Past-Presidents | APEGA


APEGA has existed for almost 100 years, and for every year of its existence, there has been a president of Council to uphold the pillars that APEGA stands for: integrity, accountability, innovation, and service. Through the decades of change and growth, the men and women listed below led APEGA’s Council.

They have worked across the globe, from Mississippi to Venezuela, but all settled their talents here in Alberta. Each came from different walks of life, from serving in the Second World War, to teaching aeronautics, to instigating first-time overseas ventures. This incredible group made its mark on the world and on APEGA.

All of these outstanding people helped make APEGA what it is today, and all were thanked for their service with an Honorary Life Membership award—a framed medallion memento—inducting them as life members of APEGA.

An ad-blocker has been detected that will interfere with the functionality of the automatic table sorting below. Please add to your white list.

Year SortPresident Sort
1920Frederick H. Peters, P.Eng.
1921Robert A. Brown, P.Eng.
1922Robert G. Drinnan, P.Eng.
1923Charles A. "Baldy" Robb, P.Eng.
1924Lionel C. Charlesworth, P.Eng.
1925R.W. "Billy" Boyle, P.Eng.
1926B.L. (Benjamin) Thorne, P.Eng.
1927William J. Cunningham, P.Eng.
1928Robert S.L. Wilson, P.Eng.
1929R. Bruce Baxter, P.Eng.
1930John A. Allan, P.Eng.
1931R.S. (Russell) Trowsdale, P.Eng.
1932Robert J. Gibb, P.Eng.
1933James D. Baker, P.Eng.
1934Joseph B. de Hart, P.Eng.
1935Penrose Melvin Sauder, P.Eng.
1936Albert W. Haddow, P.Eng.
1937Charles E. Garnett, P.Eng.
1938James G. Sanderson, P.Eng.
1939John T. "Jack" Watson, P.Eng.
1940Howard J. McLean, P.Eng.
1941Wilfred E. Cornish, P.Eng.
1942Samuel G. Coultis, P.Eng.
1943Vernon Pearson, P.Eng.
1944Julian Garrett, P.Eng.
1945James McMillan, P.Eng.
1946Leonard C. Stevens, P.Eng.
1947Joseph S. Irving, P.Geol.
1948Chester S. Clendening, P.Eng.
1949Robert M. Hardy, OC, P.Eng.
1950F. Austin Brownie, P.Eng.
1951Harold P. Randle, P.Eng.
1952Herbert H. Moor, P.Eng.
1953J. Jefferey Hanna, P.Eng.
1954LeRoy Allan Thorssen, C.M., P.Eng.
1955Thomas D. Stanley, P.Eng.
1956J. Graham Dale, P.Eng.
1957J. Campbell Sproule, P.Geol.
1958George W. Govier, OC, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
1959Charles A. Stollery, P.Eng.
1960D. Carlton Jones, P.Eng.
1961Beverly A. Monkman, P.Eng.
1962Norman J. Allison, P.Eng.
1963George Ford, P.Eng., FCAE
1964Douglas R. Craig, P.Eng.
1965Ralph N. McManus, P.Eng. FCAE, FEC
1966Walter A. Smith, P.Eng.
1967Norman L. Reid, P.Eng., FCAE, FEC
1968Percy M. Butler, P.Eng., FCAE, FEC
1969Richard H. Swann, P.Eng.
1970W.A.B. (Al) Saunders, P.Eng.
1971James R. Hume, P.Geoph., FGC, FEC (Hon.)
1972R. Alexander Hemstock, P.Eng.
1973Ronald N. Dalby, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
1974Akira (Aki) Nawata, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
1975Frank K. Spragins, P.Eng.
1976Elmer M. Berlie, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
1977Emil J. Sanden, P.Eng.
1978Gerald J. Maier, OC, P.Eng., CD, LLD, FCAE, FEC, FGC (Hon.)
1979Roy O. Lindseth, CM, P.Geoph., FGC, FEC (Hon.)
1980John R. McDougall, P.Eng., FCAE, FEC, OStJ, FGC (Hon.)
1981G. Ronald Gray, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
1982William L. Fraser, P.Eng., FEC
1983John M. (Jack) Browning, P. Geol., FEC (Hon.)
1984Robert H. Savage, P.Eng., FCAE, FEC, FGC (Hon.)
1985Donald G. Bellow, P.Eng., FCAE, FEC, FGC (Hon.)
1986William W. Blair, P.Geoph.
1987James S. Denis, P.Eng., FEC
1988Thomas W. Chambers, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
1989David T. Irving, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
1990Norman Orr, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
1991Noel A. Cleland, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
1992Barry Lester, P.Eng., FCAE, FEC, FGC (Hon.)
1993J.A. (Tony) Howard, P.Eng., CMC, FEC, FGC (Hon.)
1994David W. Devenny, P.Geol., P.Eng., FGC, FCAE, FEC
1995John R. Wood, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
1996Frederick D. Otto, P.Eng., FCAE, FEC, FGC (Hon.)
1997Dennis A. Lindberg, P.Eng.
1998D.R. Dan Motyka, P.Eng., FCAE, FEC, FGC (Hon.)
1999Darrel J. Danyluk, P.Eng., FEIC, FCSCE, MASCE, FEC, FGC (Hon.)
2000S.E. (Sue) Evison (Aitken), P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
2001H.D. (Dale) Miller, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
2002R.S. Tenove, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
2003M.W. (Mike) Smyth, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
2004Linda C. Van Gastel, P.Eng., FCAE, FEC, FGC (Hon.)
2005L.B. (Larry) Staples, P.Eng., FEC, FCAE, FGC (Hon.)
2006D.B. (David) Chalcroft, P.Eng., FCAE, FCSSE, FEC, FGC (Hon.)
2007John G.F. McLeod, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
2008Dr. Gordon D. Williams, P.Geol., PhD, FGC, FEC (Hon.)
2009W. James (Jim) Beckett, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
2010Kim Farwell, P.Eng., MBA, FEC, FGC (Hon.)
2011James (Jim) E. Smith, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
2012Leah Lawrence, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
2013Colin Yeo, P.Geo., FGC, FEC (Hon.)
2014Jim Gilliland, P.Eng., PhD, FEC, FGC (Hon.)
2015Connie Parenteau, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
2016Steve E. Hrudey, P.Eng., PhD, FCAE, FRSC, FSRA, IWAF, FEC, FGC (Hon.)
2017Jane Tink, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)
2018Nima Dorjee, P.Eng., FEC, FGC (Hon.)