Election | APEGA


Each year, an APEGA Council election is held. Voting is conducted online over 30 days in early spring so that all Members have an equal opportunity to take part and have their voices heard.

Councillors serve three-year terms that begin on the day of the Annual General Meeting in the year in which they were elected.

The candidate who receives the highest number of votes for President-Elect/Vice-President becomes the President-Elect for one year. This person automatically becomes the President the following year and the Past-President the year after that. The candidate who receives the second-highest number of votes becomes the Vice-President for one year.

Council Nominations are Now Open

To run for Council, you must be a Member in good standing with an eligible membership type and able to commit to the duties of a Councillor and a three-year term. APEGA publishes the top-ranked Council needs and personal attributes in the summer issue of The PEG and in the Member Self-Serve Centre (MSSC) each year.

Candidates can be endorsed by the Nominating Committee or be self-nominated. If you want to nominate yourself, you must complete the self-nomination section in the MSSC during the nomination period.

Nomination Period for Election 2018

  • Nominations Open: Monday, July 10, 2017 at 9:00 a.m.

  • Nominations Close: Friday, September 29, 2017 at 4:30 p.m.

Read about self-nomination

Voting in the Election

Infographic: Everything you need to know about the APEGA Annual Election

Click to view the full infographic

The 2018 election will take place from February 16, 2018 to March 18, 2018.

You can vote in the APEGA Election if you are a Member in good standing with an eligible membership type at the time of the election.

A Member in good standing has:

  • no outstanding financial obligations to APEGA
  • no current APEGA-imposed sanctions or suspensions
  • no outstanding CPD hours


Eligible to Vote

  • Honorary Life Member
  • Life Member
  • Professional Member (P.Eng., P.Geo., P.Geol., P.Geoph.)
  • Professional Licensee (P.L.)

Ineligible to Vote

  • Applicant
  • Exam Candidate or Student
  • Honorary Member
  • Licensee
  • Member-in-Training (Engineer-in-Training or Geoscientist-in-Training)
  • Provisional Licensee